Skip to content
  • HIV Self-test
  • Hong Kong HIV Situation in 2018
  • Stay Safe Love Life
  • Myths
  • HIV & Hepatitis
Arrow Down
  • Mobile
    App:  
  • 1069 試載樂
  • 1069 Mobile app IOS
  • 1069 Android Mobile app
  • Quick Facts

    print
    1. 1. Free hepatitis A vaccination

      Ans: The Department of Health has arranged a hepatitis A vaccination programme for MSM. Two doses of hepatitis A vaccines would be given at least 6 months apart to provide a life-long protection.
      Please go to the designed Social Hygiene Clinics for registration and arrangement of vaccination. Prior appointment is not required. (Registration is closed an hour before the end of each session)

      1. Wan Chai Male Social Hygiene Clinic
      2. Yau Ma Tei Male Social Hygiene Clinic
      3. Fanling Social Hygiene Clinic

      For Details

    2. 2. Are HIV and AIDS the same thing?

      Ans: No. AIDS stands for Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome. It is caused by the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV).

      HIV attacks and destroys CD4 cells, the disease-fighting cells of the immune system. As the immune system is seriously damaged, the infected person is more vulnerable to certain cancers and a wide range of infections. These types of infections are known as opportunistic infections because they take advantage of a person's weakened immune system. When that happens, HIV infection has progressed to its final stage which is commonly known as AIDS.

    3. 3. How can I tell if I'm infected with HIV?

      Ans: The only way to know if you're infected with HIV is to get tested. Most infected people do not have any symptoms at all for years and continue to look normal and healthy. Some may have flu-like symptoms (often described as "the worst flu ever") 2 to 4 weeks after exposure. Symptoms can include: fever, tiredness, sore throat, rash, diarrhoea and swollen glands. These symptoms may last for a few days to weeks. During this time (window period), the infection may not show up on an HIV antibody test, but the person is highly infectious and can spread the virus to others. You cannot tell whether a person has been infected by his appearance, the only way to know is to get tested.

    4. 4. How do people get it?

      Ans: HIV is passed on through infected body fluids such as blood, semen (including pre-cum), rectal and vaginal secretions. It may be passed on from an HIV infected person to another by sexual contact (including oral and anal sex) and blood contact (e.g. needle sharing). In Hong Kong, more than 75% of cases are infected through sexual contact and about half of the new cases reported in recent years are infected through homosexual or bisexual contact.

    5. 5. Can I get HIV from oral sex?

      Ans: Although the risk of HIV transmission through oral sex is far lower than that through anal sex, it is possible you become infected through giving or receiving oral sex (i.e. fellatio and rimming). The risk is higher through giving oral sex with the sex partner cumming (ejaculating) in your mouth, followed in order by giving oral sex without the sex partner cumming, and simply receiving oral sex including being blown and rimmed. The factors that cause an increase in the risk of HIV transmission include a high viral load, presence of mouth ulcers, bleeding gums, genital sores, and of other sexually transmitted infections (STIs).

      Besides, other infections can be transmitted through oral sex. These include syphilis, gonorrhoea, herpes, warts, hepatitis A and B.

    6. 6. Can HIV be passed on through saliva, sweat or urine?

      Ans: No. These body fluids do not contain enough virus to infect other persons. The body fluids which can transmit HIV are blood, semen (including pre-cum), rectal and vaginal secretions.

      You cannot get HIV through casual or day-to-day contact, including a kiss on the cheek, sharing meals, or sitting on toilet seats. Besides, there is no evidence to show that mosquitoes can transmit HIV.

    7. 7. Can I get HIV from taking drugs?

      Ans: HIV can be transmitted by sharing injection or snorting equipment. Moreover, the effects of recreational drugs can increase your risk for HIV infection. Being drunk or high affects your ability to make safe choices and lowers your inhibitions, which may lead you to do something like having sex without condoms or having more rough sex, which you are less likely to when sober. For example, methamphetamine (meth, ice) is a very addictive stimulant and hence an HIV risk factor, it is observed there is a strong link between meth use and HIV transmission among gay and bisexual men.

    8. 8. How long do I have to wait for an HIV test result?

      Ans: A conventional HIV test (blood taking from vein) takes around 1 week for the result, whereas a rapid test (finger prick) only requires 20-30 minutes but the latter is only a screening test.

    9. 9. What are the pros and cons of HIV self-testing?

      Ans:HIV self-testing is a process by which a person who wants to know his or her HIV status collects a specimen, performs a test and interprets the test result in private. It does not provide a definitive diagnosis. Any positive HIV result must be confirmed by laboratory-based testing with a venous blood sample. By providing an opportunity for people to test themselves discreetly and conveniently, HIV self-testing may provide people who are not currently reached by existing HIV voluntary counselling and testing (VCT) services with information about their HIV status.

      In Hong Kong, there is currently no legislation that regulates the manufacture, import, export, sale and use of medical devices (including HIV self-test kits). However, users are able to purchase self-test kits either over-the-counter in pharmacies or through various online platforms. Users should purchase self-test kits, if they choose to do so, from reliable sources; and test kits with either CE approval, FDA approval or prequalified by WHO are preferred.

    10. 10. If I've already got HIV, can I get another kind of HIV?

      Ans: Yes. This is called HIV superinfection. The new strain of HIV can replace the original strain or remain along with the original strain. Its effects differ from person to person. For some people, superinfection may cause them to get sicker faster because they become infected with a new strain of the virus that is resistant to the medicines they are currently taking to treat their original HIV infection.

    11. 11. If I've got a negative result, does this mean that my partner is HIV-negative also?

      Ans: No. Your HIV test result reveals only your HIV status. HIV is not necessarily transmitted every time you have sex. Therefore, taking an HIV test is not a definitive way to find out if your partner is infected. Discuss with your partner about whether he has been tested before and about his risk behaviours now and in the past. Consider getting tested together.

    12. 12. What do I have to do if I get a HIV-positive result?

      Ans: Advances in HIV treatment have led to a greatly improved survival of infected patients, especially when the diagnosis is made early. There is evidence that HIV treatment contributes significantly to the prevention of onward transmission via sexual contact and other transmission routes.

      What you have to do is to:

      • Work out the treatment plan with your doctor;
      • Prepare for the changes in your daily life, e.g. where to put the medicines;
      • Stick to the treatment plan, discuss with your doctor if there is any side effect you cannot bear.
    13. 13. What are the benefits of HIV treatment?
      With an effective ART:
      • Most HIV-positive guys can achieve an undetectable viral load (<200copies/ml) by maintaining a good adherence. It will in turn allow for a recovery of the CD4 count and allows the immune system to stay strong.
      • There is now clear evidence that the sooner you start to take HIV treatment, the sooner you can benefit from it.
      • There is fewer chance of acquiring opportunistic infections and HIV-associated cancers.
      • The risk of serious health problems that occur more frequently in HIV-positive people could be trimmed down, such as cardiovascular disease, kidney disease, liver disease, neurological complications and various non-AIDS-related cancers and infections.
      • Evidence has shown that as long as you continue to have your viral load monitored to confirm that the level of HIV is suppressed to undetectable levels for at least six months, there is a negligible risk of transmitting HIV sexually. However, this doesn't mean that HIV treatment is a replacement for condoms, because it does not protect you from other STIs infection.
  • What's Up

    • Latest HIV Statistics

      A total of 137 additional HIV new cases were reported to the Department of Health in second quarter of 2019 Among them, 50% (70 cases) acquired the infection via homosexual or bisexual route.
      "Most of the HIV-infected people can live a healthy and productive life with early treatment."

    • Take Me Home, HIV Self-Testing

      A new self-testing service is provided by Department of Health now. You can perform the test by yourself confidentially. It is easy to order and highly accessible. Also, no blood taking is needed. Payment will be cancelled with result uploaded. For details >>

    • Publicity during HKLGFF 2019

      After an enduring love, would the gay couple's dream wedding come true? Their family members and friends of both individuals truly bless this special wedding? This year, a film "My Big Gay Italian Wedding" which tells the story of a gay couple planned to get married will be screened. Will his family accept the union? For details >>

    • Myths
    • HIV Testing
    • Rapid HIV Test Location
    • Get Free Condoms
Arrow Down
Arrow Up

Skip to content
Arrow Down
  • 手機
    應用程式:  
  • \
  • 1069手機應用程式 IOS
  • 1069 Android 手機應用程式
  • 焦點資訊

    列印
    1. 1. 免費甲型肝炎疫苗

      答: 衞生署現推出為HeHe而設的免費甲型肝炎疫苗注射計劃,只需在相隔六個月注射兩劑疫苗,便可終生免疫。
      請到下列指定的男性社會衞生科診所登記並安排接受免費疫苗注射,毋須電話預約。(每節服務時間結束前一小時截止登記)

      1. 灣仔社會衞生科診所
      2. 油麻地社會衞生科診所
      3. 粉嶺社會衞生科診所

      了解更多

    2. 2. 感染愛滋病病毒就等同患上愛滋病?

      答: 並不等同。愛滋病嘅全名為「後天免疫力缺乏症」,係由人類免疫力缺乏病毒(即愛滋病病毒)攻擊和破壞免疫系統嘅CD4淋巴細胞所引起。由於這種病毒嚴重破壞人類免疫系統,受感染嘅人因而會更容易患上某些癌症同出現各種感染。這些感染趁患者免疫力降低時乘機入侵,所以稱為「機會性感染」。發生這種情況時,愛滋病病毒感染就已經進入愛滋病病發期。

    3. 3. 點樣先知道係唔係感染咗愛滋病?

      答: 要知道你係唔係感染咗愛滋病,唯一方法係接受測試。大多數感染者可以好多年唔帶任何症狀而繼續正常健康生活;有啲人就可能於感染病毒二至四周後患有流感症狀(常被描述為「大感冒」),包括:發燒、疲倦、喉嚨痛、皮疹、腹瀉和淋巴腫脹等,並可能持續幾日至幾個禮拜。在這段期間(空窗期),感染未能喺愛滋病病毒抗體測試顯示出來,但感染者已經可以把病毒傳染他人,而且傳染性好強。記住:你不能單看外表就知道某某人係唔係已經受感染,接受測試先至係唯一嘅方法。

    4. 4. 愛滋病病毒係點樣感染到?

      答: 愛滋病病毒可以經由感染者嘅體液如血液、精液(包括射精前嘅分泌),以及直腸同陰道分泌物等傳播,傳播途徑包括性接觸(包括口交、肛交)同血液接觸(如共用針具)。喺香港,超過75% 嘅人係經由性接觸感染,而近年來更有約半數嘅新病例係透過同性或雙性性接觸感染。

    5. 5. 我會經由口交得到愛滋病嗎?

      答: 雖然經由口交感染愛滋病嘅風險遠低於肛交,但你也有可能因為替人口交或接受口交(包括含吮陰莖同舔肛)而感染,而替人口交並於口內射精,較單純替人口交而他並無射精,以及接受口交(包括被含吮陰莖及被舔肛)有更高嘅感染風險。增加愛滋病感染風險嘅因素包括病毒數量高、口腔潰瘍、牙齦出血、性器官潰瘍,以及感染性病。

      此外,可以經由口交而感染嘅性病包括:梅毒、淋病(俗稱白濁)、性病疱疹、性病疣(俗稱椰菜花)、甲型和乙型肝炎等。

    6. 6. 愛滋病病毒可以經由唾液、汗液或者尿液傳播嗎?

      答: 不可以。這些體液的病毒數量不足以感染他人。而可以傳播愛滋病病毒嘅體液包括血液、精液(包括射精前嘅分泌)、直腸同陰道嘅分泌物。

      社交或日常嘅接觸例如吻臉、一齊食飯或者共用廁所都不會使你感染愛滋病。此外,沒有證據顯示蚊子可以傳播愛滋病。

    7. 7. 我會因吸毒而感染愛滋病嗎?

      答: 愛滋病病毒可以透過共用針筒或鼻索器皿傳播。此外,服用消遣性藥物可以增加感染愛滋病嘅風險。醉酒或者情緒亢奮也會影響你嘅選擇,減低你嘅自制能力,可能導致你做一些清醒時不會做嘅事情,比如唔用安全套發生性行為或者更多粗暴嘅性行為。例如,甲基安非他明(又稱「冰毒」)係非常容易上癮嘅興奮劑,大大增加感染愛滋病嘅風險。資料顯示「冰毒」與同性戀、雙性戀男子之間傳播愛滋病有密切嘅聯繫。

    8. 8. 愛滋病病毒抗體測試嘅結果要等多長時間?

      答: 傳統嘅愛滋病病毒抗體測試(抽血)大約可以喺一個禮拜後知道結果,而快速測試(篤手指)則只需20至30分鐘,但後者只係一個篩查。

    9. 9. 愛滋病自我檢測有什麼優點同缺點?

      答: 愛滋病自我檢測係指一個人私下採集樣本、進行檢測及解讀檢測結果嘅整個過程,以了解其感染愛滋病病毒嘅狀況。呢個唔可以作為最終確診之用,只能做初步篩查,任何自我檢測任何陽性結果都必須抽取靜脈血液樣本,送去化驗所再進行確診測試。

      對於未能接受現有自願輔導和檢測服務嘅人士,自我檢測可令佢哋自在同方便咁知道自己嘅愛滋病感染狀況。

      香港目前並無特定法例規管醫療儀器(包括愛滋病自我檢測套裝)嘅製造、進出口、銷售或使用。用家可係藥房或網上平台購買。用家應從可靠嘅來源購買自我檢測套裝,並建議購買有歐盟認証、經美國食品及藥物管理局核准或通過世界衛生組織資格預審嘅產品。

    10. 10. 如果已經感染咗愛滋病,會唔會感染另一種愛滋病病毒?

      答: 會。這就是所謂嘅「愛滋病病毒超級感染」。愛滋病病毒嘅新病毒株可取代原有嘅病毒株或與原有嘅並存,影響也因人而異。有啲人可能因為超級感染而加速病情惡化,原因係新嘅病毒株對正在服用嘅抗病毒藥物產生抗藥性。

    11. 11. 如果我嘅測試呈陰性,係唔係代表我嘅伴侶就無受感染?

      答: 並不是。你嘅愛滋病測試結果只顯示你嘅感染狀況。愛滋病病毒不一定喺每次發生性行為時傳播,因此,你接受愛滋病測試並不是找出你伴侶係唔係已受感染嘅明智方法。其實,你可以問一問你嘅伴侶有無試過接受測試,並與伴侶傾談一下佢現在同過去有無高風險行為。總之,與伴侶考慮一起接受愛滋病測試就係最好嘅做法。

    12. 12. 如果愛滋病病毒測試呈陽性反應,我有乜嘢可以做?

      答: 愛滋病治療已有很大嘅進展,能大大提高感染者嘅存活時間;能夠及早診斷,治療效果就會更好。證據顯示,愛滋病治療對於預防病毒透過性接觸同其他傳染途徑嘅傳播,效果尤其顯著。

      你要做嘅係:

      • 與醫生協議治療方案;
      • 準備面對日常生活上嘅變化,例如放置藥物嘅地方;
      • 堅守方案,同醫生傾傾自己一些無法承受嘅藥物副作用。
    13. 13. 接受愛滋病治療會有乜嘢好處?
      有效嘅抗愛滋病病毒藥物治療可以
      • 使大多數HIV嘅感染者在穩定接受咗抗愛滋病病毒藥物治療後,可將病毒載量減低至到無法被偵測嘅水平(<200copies/ml),使CD4淋巴細胞數量回復至正常水平,以維持正常嘅免疫力。
      • 目前已有明確証據顯示,越早接受治療, 越快見到成效。
      • 減少出現機會性感染和愛滋病相關嘅惡性腫瘤。
      • 減少一些常見於感染者身上嘅健康問題,例如心血管疾病、腎病、肝病、神經系統併發症,以及多種非愛滋病相關嘅惡性腫瘤和感染等。
      • 多項研究顯示,如你能一直監察病毒載量而能維持在偵測不到嘅水平最少六個月以上,經由性傳播HIV嘅機會是微乎其微。然而,這並不代表愛滋病治療可以代替安全套,因治療不能預防其他性病感染。
  • 有乜搞作

    • 最新統計數據

      衞生署公布咗2019年第二季嘅HIV感染數字,共錄得137宗HIV新增感染個案。而當中70宗透過同性或雙性性接觸受感染,約佔總數嘅一半。
      "盡早接受治療,大部份感染者同樣可以過健康而有質素嘅生活!"

    • HIV自我檢測、帶我返屋企

      紅絲帶中心將於9月下旬推出全新嘅HIV自我檢測服務,自家做,保障私隱之餘,落單取貨方便,又毋須驗血,上載結果後仲可獲撤銷付款。密切留意我哋嘅最新消息啦!

    • 於香港同志影展推展宣傳活動:

      兩人決定結束愛情長跑,係咪就可以結婚共度餘生呢,雙方家人同朋友對呢段不一樣嘅婚姻又係咪真心祝福?今年中心揀咗呢套"結婚哪有那麼男",就係講兩個男同志結婚嘅故事。究竟佢哋最終能否有幸福的結局?詳情>>

    • 人講你又信
    • 愛滋病測試
    • 提供快速測試機構
    • 免費安全套
  • 人講你又信
  • 愛滋病測試
  • 提供快速測試機構
  • 免費安全套
Arrow Down
Arrow Up
  • Mobile App:  
  • 1069 試載樂
  • Available on the App Store
  • Get it on Google play